STATE OF CALIFORNIA — HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES AUTHORITY
1930 9" STREET

SACRAMENTO, CA 95811-7043

(916) 322-4336  FAX (916) 324-2875

November 5, 2007

Dear EMT Certifying Authorities:

The purpose of this letter is to provide clarification for the letter dated July 27, 2007,
regarding the National Registry of EMTs (NREMT) EMT-Basic Assessment
Examination. In that letter, the EMS Authority (EMSA) asked for your assistance in
verifying eligibility for an individual to take the Assessment Examination. After receiving
feedback from the local EMS agencies and further clarification from the NREMT, we are
providing additional information as to when an Assessment Exam will be used and
when a Refresher Exam will be used.

Assessment Examination — Requires EMSA Authorization
The EMT-Basic Assessment Exam will be used for the following circumstances:

1. A 17 year-old that will turn 18 within a year of the examination.

a. The results of the cognitive and psychomotor examinations are only good for
12 months.

b. After turning 18 years-old the candidate may contact the NREMT for
instructions on converting the result of their EMT-B Assessment examination
to “Fully Registered”. There will be a $30.00 processing fee.

2. A felony conviction that does not meet NREMT entry requirements but a California
certifying authority will certify.

3. Any candidate for a California EMT-I certificate that does not meet NREMT entry
requirements.

4. Eligibility requirements are addressed in the EMT-I Regulations in the Certification
Section (§100079) and the Recertification After Lapse in Certification Section
(§100081). EMSA is asking the EMT-I certifying authorities to verify eligibility and
notify EMSA if the candidate is eligible. A candidate using the assessment
examination does not meet NREMT entry requirements and cannot become NREMT
certified.

5. The candidate will need to complete the Assessment Examination application at the
NREMT web site.

6. Authorization to take the Assessment Examination must come from a state EMS
office; this is a NREMT policy. This is why EMSA is asking for your assistance in
verifying the candidate’s eligibility.

Refresher Examination — Does Not Require EMSA Authorization
NREMT Refresher application (leading to NREMT certification) for candidates that meet
the following:

1. California EMT-I certification has expired less than 2 years ago and the candidate
has never been NREMT certified.
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2. NREMT expired less than 2 years ago and California EMT-I certification expired
more than 2 years ago. ‘
3. NREMT expired more than 2 years ago and California EMT-I certification expired !
less than 2 years ago.
4. NREMT expired more than 2 years ago and California EMT-I certification is current.
5. Eligibility requirements are addressed in the EMT-I Regulations in the Certification
Section (§100079) and the Recertification After Lapse in Certification Section
(§100081). EMSA is asking the EMT-I certifying authorities to verify eligibility and
notify EMSA if the candidate is eligible.

The candidate will need to apply for a Refresher Application. Once the application has
been filled-out and reviewed by the NREMT, a fax cover sheet can be printed with
information on the candidate’s Registry Account Representative (at the NREMT) along
with a fax number. Then the candidate will need to fax the following information to a
Registry Account Representative who will then contact the candidate:

1. Documentation of successful completion of a state-approved DOT National Standard
EMT-Basic course, or

2. Documentation of successful completion of a state-approved DOT National Standard
EMT-Basic Refresher course within the past two (2) years, or

3. Documentation of 24-hours of continuing education (CE) within the past two (2)
years. Continuing education must meet the CE topical requirements found under
NREMT Re-certification requirements. NOTE: A maximum number of 10hrs can be

_applied from Distributive Education towards this requirement and must be state or

CECBEMS approved. A Registry rep will assist the candidate with this process.

4. Copy of current or expired California EMT-I certificate.

5. Verification of a state certified practical examination within the past 12 months.

6. Copy of a current CPR card.

California Specific Requirements

So far this letter has described the NREMT eligibility requirements for either the
Assessment Examination or the Refresher Examination. The NREMT requires only 24
hours of training in order to be eligible for the NREMT refresher examination. There are
a few more points that EMT-I certifying authorities need to be aware of regarding
California requirements for EMT-I recertification.

First, EMT-I certifying authorities need to review the renewal application to make sure w
that the correct amount of CE was taken to be eligible for recertification. For those
candidates that are in the 12 to 24 months since their California EMT-| certification has
lapsed, they need to complete 48 hours of CE or a combination of CE and a 24-hour
refresher course, even if they have a current or recently renewed NREMT EMT-Basic
certification.

Second, please keep the timelines in mind for lapsed EMT-I certificate holders to renew
their EMT-I certifications. There is a 24-month window of opportunity for an individual
with a lapsed EMT-I certificate to complete the recertification requirements before they
have to retake an entire EMT-I course.
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Recertification candidates that need to pass either the Assessment Examination or
Refresher Examination are already over 12 months into this 24 month lapsed period.

If you have any questions, please contact me at (916) 322-4336, extension 461.
Sincerely,

Laura Little
BLS Coordinator
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